Home > basketball, Jordan, Videos > What would Michael Jordan tell Lebron James?

What would Michael Jordan tell Lebron James?

I’ve been going through a rough patch.

Things at work have not been going the way I had hoped. When I first started, I was filled with so much enthusiasm, passion, and energy that I literally thought that anything was possible. I believed that my company would change the world of education, and that I would have a big part to play in making those changes happen. I thought that I knew the way.

And now, I’m lost. What should I do?

This must be similar to how Lebron felt after losing the NBA championships in game 6 to the Dallas Mavericks.

When he first joined the Miami Heat he was so sure about winning a championship that he even predicted winning 7! How much enthusiasm, passion, and energy must he have had to make those brazen predictions!

And now look at him. He is a shell of his former self. He lost many of his fans and is now mocked everywhere he turns.

If you were Lebron, what should you do?

Here’s what Michael Jordan would tell Lebron.

That was definitely what I needed to hear. Nothing great ever comes easy.┬áMichael didn’t get to where he got to purely based on athleticism and passion. He used everything he could think of to fuel himself to become better. Whether it was heart breaking defeats dealt by his opponents or stinging words from his critics, nothing deterred him from his one and only goal; which is to become the greatest basketball player of all time.

I still have much to learn.

I need to learn from my failures and allow them to make me stronger. Use the pain and the frustration as reasons to work harder and not reasons to quit. It’s too easy to quit. It’s hard to succeed. And I want to succeed. I now know what I must do. Thank you Michael.

Hopefully Lebron James can also learn from his mistakes from this past season. He is an unbelievably talented player and he has the potential to be so much more. I just hope that the setbacks he suffered is not enough to make him stop learning and improving. Although I don’t think he will come close to being the greatest basketball player of all time, he can definitely become ONE of the greatest players of all time.

About the video

If you didn’t recognize it, the video above splices together 2 other Nike commercials.

Here’s the original Michael Jordan Maybe It’s My Fault commercial.

Here’s the original Lebron James Lebron Rise commercial.

Bonus clip:

I bet this will give you goose bumps.

Categories: basketball, Jordan, Videos
  1. dean
    July 21, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    well said andy. i’ve been busting my ass at work taking care of kids sicker that i’ve ever seen in an operating room environment that moves faster than what i’m used to. i will think about those words when i’m feeling beaten down

    • July 22, 2011 at 9:02 am

      Thanks Dean. It must be tough to adjust to a new working environment. Keep up the good work!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

